Skordalia – Delicious Greek Dip and it’s Vegan.

Christmas shoppers bustled their way from store to store, laden with bags and  trolleys piled high with booze and tinsel. Market traders lay their home made wares on tables, an array of sauces, chutney, nuts, cakes, beaded Christmas Trees and books. I managed to chomp the free samples of  banoffee walnuts, Thai cashews, various chunks of dark chocolate and hummus, the concoction gave my palate a good workout. Then came the pièce de resistance…

How could I have been on this Planet so long and  not have heard of Skordalia? Tons of hummus has passed my lips, Tzatiki a familiar friend on my buffet table, Guacamole, salsa, ful medames , all manner of delectable dippages  I have known, but where has Skordalia been all my life?

Skordalia

The table had various Greek specialties laid out, this curious white substance caught my eye, the label simply said ‘Skordalia, potato and garlic dip’. I asked the guy if it had milk or eggs in it and he shook his head, no, just potatoes and garlic. So I helped myself to a generous dollop.  Creamy, zingy, stingy sensations hit my tongue, sending my eyebrows and the corners of my mouth upwards, immensely pleasant taste and texture delight. Skordo is Greek for Garlic and yes, there is plenty of this natural antibiotic in it!

A tasty dip to add to the files and it is Vegan. Here is the recipe:

6 medium Potatoes
7 Cloves Garlic
1/2 Cup Extra Virgin Olive OIlSqueeze of Lemon
2 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar (Optional)
1/2 Cup water from the boiled potatoes
Tbsp Salt
Crack of Pepper

Peel, slice and boil potatoes until tender.  Drain mash until smooth.

Stir in olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice and garlic. You can adjust the amount of any of these ingredients to suit your taste.

Season with salt and pepper. Cover and place in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Some recipes use bread, crushed almonds, walnuts, pine nuts or olives. Look around at different ones and try a few out.

A simple, quick, easy recipe and a fantastic alternative to all the usual characters that appear on a  Christmas buffet table or Veggie Braai / BBQ.
Enjoy!

Diane Cox

 

Leave a Reply

